Posted in Coloured Words, Personal

31 to 22 Day 9: Stuck with Chuck

These are my babies when they were new.
These are my babies when they were new.

(Shoutout to The Daily Post for this idea.)

I love SHOES.

Ever since childhood, I’ve only wanted 2 pairs of shoes. Original K-Swiss sneaker and Chuck Taylors. Since then, my shoe heart has grown to except other styles of shoes, but those are my heart.

I got the Classic K-Swiss as a treat for myself on my 8th grade graduation gift. I mean these things were  clean! Smooth leather, felt like butter on the in and outside. Whenever I put those shoes on, I was the happiest kid in the world. I was 2006 fresh finally.

When I did get to high school that’s when I fell for Converse Chuck Taylor All Stars. I fell hard. In high school, I was heavy into pop/prep/punk style and within those different realms the common denominator was Chuck Taylors. I was so fascinated with these shoes, they were so simple, yet complex. Let me tell you something, you can tell a lot about a person by the way they style their Chucks. I never did get them in high school because that was the time that money got tighter than usual for my family. So I quietly went along being perfectly content without all four years.

After I graduated high school, I got ready for my freshman year of college. In the drive from Chicago to Oklahoma we stopped at an outlet mall in Tuscola, IL. Where we went shopping for new wardrobe for college. Mom said that I had been so content with what I had that she wanted to reward me. We walked to the Converse store, where I picked out all black canvas high top Chuck Taylors. I was almost in tears when we rang them up at the register.

When I got to campus, those shoes  and my favorite t-shirt became my security blanket. When I could, I wore them to every class, campus event, late night taco bell run, etc. I felt like a ROCKSTAR. I loved them so much that soon frays started to show in the fabric near the now overly scuffed toecap, then the spine started to fray and separate. Pretty soon my socks could be seen through the toe holes and the rubber edges started to crack in places.

I can’t bring myself to toss ’em so they sit in my closet. I still bring them out from time to time, be it for yard work, quick runs, or if I just wanna feel like the rockstar again.

(Wow, My first 200+ word post! :))

See Ya Tomorrow,

JournalisticJoe

Author:

I'm a college student and writer. After 2 years in Oklahoma, I am now back at home in the South Suburbs of Chicago. This is where I post my writings and musings, etc.

2 thoughts on “31 to 22 Day 9: Stuck with Chuck

Leave a Reply

