Posted in Coloured Words, From the vault

31 to 22 Day 13: Throwback Thursday…High School

Did some more digging through my portable hard drive, and found some old poems I wrote in high school. This one I’m posting today seems relevant due to the coming labor day weekend, also known as the End Of Summer.

End Of Summer

(Originally Written March, 25 2010)

Laughter echoes through the backyard

As friends talk about nothing in general

 

Friends jumping, twisting, turning

As Rihanna and Katy ring through the trees

 

Tea, the lemon flavored kind, iced

Becomes like a water fall in the back of my throat

 

Heat, Sunlight, Warmth

Embracing me like a lover’s arms

 

And Love, built up over the seemingly

Endless days, fades as a weak ember

 

Rain, having been elusive

Makes a drowning comeback, cooling the

Air and washing away another summer 

See You Tomorrow,

JournalisticJoe

Author:

I'm a college student and writer. After 2 years in Oklahoma, I am now back at home in the South Suburbs of Chicago. This is where I post my writings and musings, etc.

Leave a Reply

