Posted in From the vault, Personal

31 to 22 Day 23: From the vault… 9/11

This post is a retrospective I wrote on the 10th anniversary of 9/11. Follow after the cut…

Nine years ago all recess was cancelled that day and I didn’t know why because it was a PERFECT, CLEAR, INDIAN SUMMER day in Chicago. Mrs. Hansen knowing we were fourth graders only said that some very bad men did some very bad things and that we had to stay inside. The principal came on the PA System and asked that we spent the rest of the day in prayer.

Later I start freaking out because everyone’s parents comes and picks them up early and Mommy or Daddy haven’t come to get them yet. Around 4:00 p.m. Dad comes signs me out and drives me home as fast as he can. I hear the radio saying World Trade Center Tower 1 and 2 have now fallen. When I get home wanting to know all that’s going on I run up to my room turn on channel 7 and as soon as I do I regret it. I see the planes going through the towers and a huge, firey ball coming out on the other side. Immediately, tears come pouring out my eyes daddy comes in sees me, hugs me and I ask why? At the time he didn’t know but he hugged me and we prayed. After which we went downstairs and rallying with the rest of our neighbors on our block and around town we put up our Flag. He put his arm around my shoulder and we stared at it, it seemed for hours. The last thing I can remember is Me, Mom, Russell, and Dad jumping in the Van to spend the night with Aunt Dorothy, Uncles David and Bobby, and Nana.

See you tomorrow,

JournalisticJoe

Author:

I'm a college student and writer. After 2 years in Oklahoma, I am now back at home in the South Suburbs of Chicago. This is where I post my writings and musings, etc.

Leave a Reply

