Posted in Coloured Words, What I'm Hearing...

Coloured Words/Sounds For The Soul: Words and Music

I’d love to write something longer for y’all today, but it’s the week before finals and I’ve my annual Autumn/Winter cold. *blows nose into generic facial tissue*

So, I’m idea-jacking one of my new faves, Dr. Luke (the pop music fan inside me giggles) Winterborne of Elemental Profoundity, who posted on the lack of modern poetry after the 20th century. He did, however, say that of the best poetry of the modern era, most of it rests in alternative/pop lyrics citing Lana Del Ray’s “Summertime Sadness” as an example. (Yeah, I wasn’t kidding about the Dr. Luke thing, he has a M.A and Ph.D in Comparative Literature, WITH Distinction, so I think he knows what he’s talking about. HaHa.)

I wholly agree with his opinion, and I’d even add that modern poetry also welcomes the genres of R&B and Hip Hop to the mix too. Unfortunately, I lack the words and time to expand on the different contributions of the artists, or poets rather, in just one of these genres alone, so I’ll end with an offering from one of my favorite singers/modern poets/etc., Ms. Lauryn Hill’s “The Sweetest Thing.”

A Wink, A Sniffle and a Smile,

JournalisticJoe

Speaking on my mother’s phone,
The touching makes me think I’m grown. (you ain’t grown)

Sweet prince of the ghetto,
Your kisses taste like amaretto.

Intoxicating, oh, so intoxicating.

How sad, how sad that all things come to an end.

But then again, I’m, I’m not alone

It was the sweet, sweetest thing I know.

 

Author:

I'm a college student and writer. After 2 years in Oklahoma, I am now back at home in the South Suburbs of Chicago. This is where I post my writings and musings, etc.

2 thoughts on “Coloured Words/Sounds For The Soul: Words and Music

Leave a Reply

