Posted in Personal

Okay, break’s over… (A Freewrite)

Hey you,

It’s been awhile hasn’t it? After the holidays, I’ve been in the mode of trying to get back into everyday life.  Although,every time I tries to get back in to the habits of writing my blog, the North Pole decided that it was time for me to dig out some more. I’ve shoveled and salted my driveway more than 6 times since New Year’s Day.

School is back in session, and I am still trying to figure out why we must always purchase new editions for so much. The classes are going well, and we’ve gotten more staff members at the newspaper. They’ve come with so many great ideas every week and the meetings have been amazing brainstorms about what we can do to increase readership.

I have been doing some poetry and short story drafts offline, however, I’d forgotten how hard it was to write poetry, I honestly think I was a better poet in high school. I will post them here sometime in the future, but right now they’re crap, which is good that’s what editing is for, but don’t expect to see them soon.

I seem to be having one of those blah months, I sit down to write, I sit in class and I know I am where I am, but I don’t know why. I’m reading and writing , yet I feel that nothing’s sinking in I’m just like, “Okay now what.” For instance, I’m reading Toni Morrison’s The Bluest Eye right now,  and what I’m reading is highly emotional and vivid yet I’m not responding the way I’d like to considering I’m an emotional person. Now, this lack of focus could all be due to me not getting good, restful, sleep that I need to properly function and stuff during the day. Oh my god, did I really just type “and stuff?” I am so out of it. Let me get my homework done so I can sleep.

Wink and A Smile,

JournalisticJoe

The Literary Heaux

Author:

I'm a college student and writer. After 2 years in Oklahoma, I am now back at home in the South Suburbs of Chicago. This is where I post my writings and musings, etc.

One thought on “Okay, break’s over… (A Freewrite)

  1. I know about the blah months … for me it’s often high summer in Paris. No air-conditioning, of course, and I often just lie around on my bed thinking. It’s too much effort to do anything. I read at night, it’s true, but slowly.

    I happen to love The Bluest Eye, especially I love teaching it. I think the full impact hits you after you’ve finished the book and it settles all around those areas of your brain and your think … oh, wow. The same is true of Nella Parson’s Passing, another book I love to teach. Have you read it? Personally, I find it heartbreaking.

Leave a Reply

