Posted in Coloured Words

Traveling…if only in my mind.

This week, I’m on spring break. Unfortunately, unlike my many collegiate peers I am not in the lucky group that has the money to travel for a week. So I’ve been at home,  on vacation, in my mind. Lately, I’ve been looking at convertibles and roadsters wondering where I would drive them? Pair this wonder, with some of my road trip playlist and my mind wandered on two of my favorite leisurely drives and one I’ve done personally and one that I would love to do. Since these road trips take place in my dreams, they also take place in the perfect spring conditions, high 60s-low 70s with clear, blue, or partly cloudy skies.

Chicago to Galena:

My first personal favorite is the drive from the Chicago to Galena, IL/Dubuque, IA. I live in the south suburbs of Chicago, I drive to I-90 and take it northwest to the junction of US 20 in Rockford. Route 20 from that point isn’t that much but a straight, flat, two lane road. However, shortly after you pass through the city of Stockton, you soon enter what’s known as the Driftless Area, which extends into Wisconsin and Iowa. The Illinois secton is also known as Illinois’ wine country. The road opens up in this area, this is the picturesque part of the trip. The road meanders, weaves and bobs as you ride along the bluffs ridges of ancient glaciers, looking down into the lush green fields of the Mississippi River valley. You then pass through the charming town of Galena, one of my favorite staycation destinations,with its charming Victorian mansions and a downtown that would make Norman Rockwell proud. Crossing the now creek sized Galena river, leaving Galena behind you continue looking down over the hills and pastures in the valley for about fifteen minutes. Soon you descend the river bluff and you meet the Missisippi River, turn north and for twenty minutes your driving with the river on one side and the limestone bluffs rising on the other. Pretty soon you’re crossing the river over the into Iowa and the City of Dubuque.

Seattle to San Diego:

With the car above, I would love to do a coastal drive from Seattle to San Diego on US 101/California 1/IS-5. I’d take a week or so for what would normally be a one day drive, stopping in each major city overnight on my way. Starting on IS-5 from Seattle, I’d drive to Portland, OR. The next day, from Portland, I’d detour to US 101 and drive along the coast to San Francisco for a day and a half. Day 4, I’d take California 1 to San Diego where I’d spend the rest of my time. I’m sorry I wasn’t as detailed as the first description but I haven’t been to the west coast since I was 1 or 2 years old so it would definitely be a lifetime experience type trip.

Hopefully, this gives you a glimpse of where my mind is this week. I’ve also compiled a playlist of some of my favorite road trip songs, it’s about an hour long. (I really cut the list down, the main one contains Colbie Calliat and Sara Bareilles’ first three albums among many others making a 12 hour list.)

Talk to you soon,

JournalisticJoe

Author:

I'm a college student and writer. After 2 years in Oklahoma, I am now back at home in the South Suburbs of Chicago. This is where I post my writings and musings, etc.

One thought on “Traveling…if only in my mind.

Leave a Reply

