Posted in What I'm Hearing...

Friday Features: The Pierces

The Pierces are a folk-pop/rock duo comprised of  siblings Allison and Catherine Pierce. They are most notable for their creepy cafe song “Secrets” which serves as the theme song for the hit television show Pretty Little Liars, the song was suggested to the show’s producers by Ashley Benson who plays Hannah. I call them the musical daughters of Stevie Nicks. The sister’s enchanting,  haunting, and bewitching lyrics in their music makes me feel like the Supreme of the South Suburbs.

The band released their independent debut album in 2000 when the sisters were at Auburn University. In recent years, the LA-based duo has been expanding their UK fanbase with Polydor as their current label releasing their fourth album You & I in 2011(UK) and 2012 (US).  This summer, they are planning to release their 5th album, Creations (June 2nd).

Here’s their latest single, “Kings,” and a few of my favorites.

Enjoy,

JournalistcJoe

 

Author:

I'm a college student and writer. After 2 years in Oklahoma, I am now back at home in the South Suburbs of Chicago. This is where I post my writings and musings, etc.

Leave a Reply

