Posted in What I'm Hearing...

Friday Features: Music That Saved My Life

Back after a 2 year absence, it’s Friday Features! This week, I wanna do something different I’m featuring artists whose music I found going through personal crisis. Through talking with my best friend and going through some old journals I came to the realization earlier this month that I have anxiety. As I went back through my various posts, journal entries, most significantly my spotify. I noticed songs that I had on repeat at the time. Looking at the dates that I added them to my playlist and going to my journals I realized that many of the songs and entries coincided with an anxiety episode. So, here are three of the many songs that got me through some of the dark moments of my life.

Can’t Live With The World-Laura Mvula (Sing To The Moon, 2013)

Attack date:The week of July 13, 2013

If you share the experience of being black in America you know this date and the unfortunate reality it brought many of us. I ran across this song  I believe the day after the verdict. I sat in bed for most of the following week and played this song on reapeat. This song really made everything okay, for me, even though everything wasn’t okay.

Wrong Way-Lalah Hathaway (Where It All Begins, 2011)

Attack Date: January 8, 2012

I had failed my fall semester and lost my scholarship at my former college mixed with overall unhappiness being there. I skipped the first week of spring semester, locked myself in my dorm room, and worried myself sick. I let the uncertainty of my future knock me out. When I first heard “Wrong Way” I wanted so desperately to run away from my life, in hindsight the situation wasn’t as bad as it seemed. I realize that attack was an explosion I could have avoided, but it happened because I wasn’t living for me, which, is hard to do at 18 with no job. I decided to go to that university because it was what God and my family wanted and rather than continue to be the family disappointment I went ahead unprepared even though I should have stayed home a year or two. “Wrong Way” came at the point where I just wanted everything to stop. Anywhere else was better than where I was.

Take A Chance-Landon Pigg (The Boy Who Never, 2009)

Attack Date: November 18, 2012

I was finally home, I should be happy to be back home. What about my friends? They’re gonna move on. They did. What about me? I’m stuck here. Out of school. No work experience to speak of. My close friends and family are accomplishing so many goals and here I am with nothing to show. “Take A Chance” came on Pandora. I had been in my bedroom crying for most of the day while listening to either the Sara Bareilles or Ingrid Michaelson stations. (Both stations are great for moments of pure joy as well as bad cases of the sads.)  It really encouraged me to get up and go for mine,at that moment I didn’t know what mine was. Still don’t, but I’m geting closer to realizing it.

There you have it. Sorry, that these blurbs are so vague, recalling these memories were difficult to play through again. The important thing is these are a FEW of the many songs that have helped me cope, breathe, and get back to me. I pray they can help you as well.

On the way to better,

JournalisticJoe.

Author:

I'm a college student and writer. After 2 years in Oklahoma, I am now back at home in the South Suburbs of Chicago. This is where I post my writings and musings, etc.

One thought on “Friday Features: Music That Saved My Life

Leave a Reply

